Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Riding the buses

    September 27, 2016 in Scotland ⋅ 🌫 9 °C

    My enthusiasm for Edinburgh had waned due to my feelings over the accommodation. I find it hard to shrug things like this off, but that is my personality.

    I decided to start with a boat ride, you may have noticed I enjoy them 😀
    After a 45 minute bus ride into the city I bought a ticket for the bus/boat ride. The bus was a hop on hop off bus and the commentary intetesting. The boat tour went out to Inchcolm island, back and under the road bridge.
    We saw a number of seals but sadly no puffins. It's a bit late for them.
    A new road bridge is being built and we were able to see a section being raised, it was to join the south pillar to the middle pillar. A historic day according to the captain.

    After the tour I realised that all the tours were run by the same company so I upgraded my ticket to allow me to travel on all the buses.
    I made the ticket seller's day by giving her two plastic £5 notes. They apparently only came out last week and she was excited to see them.

    I went on two more bus tours, one out to the Royal Brittannia and one around central Edinburgh. The tours gave me a good overview.
    I just missed the bus to come back to the accommodation so I explored the M&S food hall and picked up some dinner. Eventually home at 7:30.

    Photos
    Houses in New town, note the different finishes on the stone on each floor level.
    Seals
    Abbey on Inchcolm island
    Firth rail bridge
    Raising the section on the new road bridge
    Walter Scott memorial
    Read more