Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    A day of history

    September 28, 2016 in Scotland ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    A bit of a late start to the day, I was trying to work out where to go next as I want to spend more time in Scotland.

    I had intended to visit the castle first but the bus I got on was going in the wrong direction so I went to the Dynamic Earth instead.
    This is an amazing place, a museum I suppose. It looks at the geology of the earth and makes it very interesting.

    I started by going back in time with their time machine and then gradually came back to the present day though a series of rooms and experiences. The temperature of the room varied according to the theme of the room. I got to experience an "earthquake", I didn't realise the ground shook from side to side rather than up and down although if I'd ever given it much thought.

    If you are in Edinburgh I recommend you visit!

    I then made my way to the castle. The area outside the castle is very interesting. I detoured to see one of the buildings restored to the Georgian era.

    It was nice to see a more or less complete castle instead of a ruin! There was so much to see and I'm sure I missed bits.

    Photos
    Edinburgh castle
    In the "time machine" at Dynamic Earth
    Saber tooth tiger
    Owl on the Royal mile
    Stained glass window in St Margaret's Chapel
    Bloke playing bagpipes on the Royal mile
    Read more