Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Culture and War

    October 29, 2017 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    Another leisurely breakfast in Manuka before starting with the National Museum.
    I’d forgotten how museums like to store animals and fetuses in glass jars. It certainly wasn’t my favourite part of the museum. I’ve spent the last couple of days driving around Canberra thinking there was a massive orange crane in the distance, turns out it is part of the artwork of the museum.
    The museum is certainly comprehensive, from indigenous Australians, through colonialism, to the present day. Apart from the bodies in jars, I enjoyed it.

    Next stop was the National Gallery. I saw the Albert Namatjira and Sydney Nolan exhibitions but it was the small collection of impressionist paintings were what I enjoyed the most. I also say a Degas sculpture.

    I finished up at the War Memorial. It was very confronting, I didn’t realise it was part museum as well as a memorial. The exhibitions are excellent but highlight the horrors.
    I was there for the last post which was a fitting way to finish the tour.
    Read more