Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Thames flood barrier

    September 20, 2018 in England ⋅ 🌬 20 °C

    Today I went down to the Thames Flood Barrier. I took a boat down to Greenwich and then down to the barrier. When I was in London 2 years ago I went down to Greenwich with a friend but was unable to go as far as the barrier due to time limitations. So this time I didn’t get off at Greenwich, just went down to the barrier and back. The trip down is still a great trip with lots to see. I’d forgotten just how plain London Bridge is and just how many bridges there are in such a short distance.

    One of the reasons I wanted to see the structure was due to the Doctor Who episode “The Runaway Bride”. I find so many references in both tv and books are from the UK that it is nice to see them in real life.

    I’m glad I saw and heard Big Ben last time as it is undergoing renovations so all that can be seen is one of the faces. I went around to Trafalgar Square. There was an extra lion as part of the London Design Festival. It’s fluoro orange and people were encouraged to feed it words. It would then come up with poetry using your word. It’s very garish but was an interesting activity. I submitted the word united and it came up with

    United by the waters that have flown
    On the high barn
    (I couldn’t read the next verse as it was partially obscured by the lion’s teeth)
    That music of the great winds dim and white
    And the soft harvests of the starry sky
    This foreigner who dares to reach the world
    And saves the sun and stars are shadowy to
    Read more