Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Searching for The Vee

    September 27, 2018 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    This evening finds me in Killarney. As usual I looked for a scenic route rather than the quickest route. Googling showed Waterford to Lismore then to Clogheen would take me through The Vee, a pass through the Knockmealdown Mountains. From there I’d choose the route to Killarney according to how much time I had as I had to be in Killarney by 6pm.
    The first part of the trip to Lismore was fine and then I set out for Clogheen. I was a bit concerned when I saw a sign for the Vee pointing in the opposite direction to which the gps was sending me. I followed the gps though and reached Clogheen without coming across the Vee although I had driven through a lot of narrow roads. When I checked google maps it said I was close to Ballymacarbry and not at Clogheen. There were no signs around to tell me which was right. So I set the gps for Lismore, choosing a different route to the one I’d just taken. One the way I found a sign pointing to the Vee and so I followed that instead. I eventually found it and while the views were remarkable the Vee itself was a bit of an anti climax.

    From there I headed to Killarney without any detours and arrived in plenty of time. I’m staying right in town, on the main street in a self catering apartment.
    Read more