Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    The Burren

    October 2, 2018 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Today was my first real wet day in Ireland. I set out to take a closer look at The Burren. The Burren is a geological area in the area that I am staying. It’s mainly limestone hits more complex than that).
    I started out with a visit to the Kilmacduagh Monastery. I’d seen the ruins from the road yesterday on my way to Doolin but didn’t have time to go and take a look. It was mainly the round tower that intrigued me. Apparently they aren’t uncommon in Ireland and this one is the tallest surviving tower and has quite a lean on it.

    I visited the Burren Perfumery. They make everything on the premises and it was all reasonably priced. They showed a video of the The Burren and it would be beautiful to visit in the summer.

    Autumn is definitely becoming evident. The leaves are changing colour, the photos don’t do it justice.
    Read more