Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Ferries, Friends...and Failures?

    September 3, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    If my plan today was to show mum just how I can smoothly navigate around an unknown city I well and truly failed. We prefer different ways of travelling. I like to do it all myself, preferably using public transport, mum prefers an organised tour. Neither is better than the other although I suspect mum was wishing a tour bus would magically appear and take her straight to the next destination without any mucking around.

    We started the day by heading to Southbank. There was some discussion as to whether we catch the bus or walk. I wasn’t too confident of navigating from one side of the Pacific Motorway which was between us and Victoria Bridge and the river. So we took the bus. We’re using a combination of google maps and the translink app to get around.
    After apparently missing one bus and then walking to the next stop down the road where the expected bus didn’t arrive we managed to get to Southbank. Like Roma st Parkland the gardens at Southbank are lovely. It got quite hot in the sun but in the shade and amongst the lush greenery it was cool.
    We took a river cruise from Southbank to Breakfast creek and return. Brisbane doesn’t have a hop on hop off bus which is how I usually like to get to know about the city I am visiting so this was a good substitute. I enjoy hearing the commentary, learning about the history and the local jokes.
    The Brisbane river is used very differently to the Swan river. We saw a barge going upstream as well as countless ferries. Part of the reason is that the wharf used to be close to Brisbane but now it is much further down river.
    It’s funny how when I’ve done the sightseeing tours with commentary overseas I’ve quite enjoyed the traditional music they play between the commentary. Hearing the tune of Waltzing Matilda sounded corny although this was only at the beginning and end. Down the river was more relaxing music.

    As we got off the boat I asked a crew member if she could recommend a restaurant on Southbank for a good seafood lunch. She suggested instead we go to George Paragons on Eagle st Pier. We caught a city cat (ferry) down there and had a delicious lunch. My one culinary goal for this trip was to try Moreton bay bugs seeings they are local. I wasn’t disappointed. Smaller and more meatier than lobster they were delicious. Mum’s seafood crepe was also delicious.

    We took the city hopper (another type of ferry) back to Southbank. While waiting to get on the city hopper I couldn’t find my go (transport) card. Both mum and I searched my purse and bag before I realised I’d turned it around. We got on the city hopper to discover it was free! Back to Southbank and to the Epicurious Garden. It is a big veggie patch but with some interesting plants. I saw a cardamom plant for the first time. If I’d ever given it any thought I would have said cardamom pods come from a tree rather than an understory tropical plant related to ginger.

    We needed postcards to send back to nephews and niece so we checked bit the Maritime Museum and Queensland Museum and Science Centre gift shops for postcards. Neither had any. After another round of “that bus didn’t come so let’s get this one” we found some postcards in the Queen st Mall.

    Mum then got to relax while I caught the train to visit a friend. At the train station I reached for my purse only to discover my purse was missing. My heart sank thinking of it being stolen. I checked with mum before panicking too much and discovered that yes, I had left it on the kitchen bench. Purse retrieved I made the next train to spend a lovely evening with Lani and her two beagles.
    Those that know me know my breed of dog is a beagle. We took Harry and Ada for a walk, Ada taking full advantage of the fact that I was happy to let her sniff and sniff.
    After picking up some fish and chips (and potato scallops - how have I never had one of these before? They are delicious) we went back to her place for dinner, chat and beagle cuddles. Definitely the highlight of the day for me.
    Read more