Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Highland Lakes and Wild Weather

    October 24, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌬 6 °C

    I’ve driven less than 300km today but it feels like so much further. I’ve read so much about how you can’t use the distance to judge driving times and the roads are very windy but it was the constant concentration needed that took me by surprise. I was regularly doing 20-40km/hr under the posted limit. Fortunately there was a lot of traffic in either direction. A couple of times this morning I pulled over to let other vehicles pass me rather than sit behind me. It was not only going up and down mountains but the zigzagging as I drove that added to the physical and mental concentration.

    I didn’t have any firm plans for today other than drive to Strahan and maybe do a walk at Lake St Clair.
    The main area I travelled through is known as Highland Lakes and there were lots and lots of lakes. All so pretty and some formed through the hydro electricity projects.
    I stopped at the The Wall in the Wildness just before Derwent Bridge. It’s a wall of carved wood panels depicting Tasmanian history, heritage and culture. The work is incredible. No photos from the inside as we were requested not to take photos.

    Lake St. Clair was next up. They had a short walk in the forrest that I had half planned on doing. While I had some lunch the weather really picked up with some rain and lots of wind. At the visitor centre I was advised not to do the walk through the forrest due to the severe weather warning. I opted to do a walk along the lakeside instead. The wind and the waves made a lot of noise. I was glad I wasn’t walking from Cradle mountain to lake St Clair as many who end up there do. After the walk I did go and take a look at the beginning of the forrest walks. Listening to the wind and the creaking trees I was glad I took the advice to do the lake walk.

    I then headed to Queenstown, stopping and various lookouts on the way. I stopped at lake Burbury and the wind there was intense.
    The winding road leading into Queenstown was the most extreme of the day.
    I did a quick shop in Queenstown and got some fuel. I’m aiming to fill up when I get to half a tank as I can’t rely on fuel always being available. Cheap Tuesday isn’t a thing in Tasmania, I paid $2.18/L.
    I got into Strahan after 6, had a look around the harbour and then came to the accommodation. Very glad I picked up supplies for dinner as the weather has picked up and I’m quite happy to stay in. The next few days the weather is not great but I think that’s just travel I’m Tasmania.
    Read more