Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Snow Capped Mountains and Waterfalls

    October 26, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    A more relaxed start to the day today as I didn’t have any firm plans. I started with a walk to Hogarth Falls in Strahan. It was a nice walk through the bush to the falls. While not as magnificent as Russell Falls they were still pretty good. The path there follows Botanical Creek. The water is brown due to tannins from button grass which is in the catchment area.
    On the way back I think a saw a live pademelon. I’ve seen plenty of roadkill including a wombat but no live mammals. Initially I thought it was a wallaby but googling suggested it was more likely to be a pademelon due to its size. It was on the path as I came around a corner but soon took off.

    Next stop was Horsetail Falls out of Queenstown. On the way I could see snow on the tops of the mountains. On the walk to the falls I met two men from the area who confirmed the weather is very unseasonable. The path was on the side of a mountain and it was really cold. Probably the coldest I’ve been so far and that is saying something. The area has regenerated over the last 20 years or more. The side of the mountain used to be known as the Moonscape as it was so barren. Many of the old mining and forestry towns are rebranding as mountain biking attractions.

    After some lunch in Queenstown I headed up to Zeehan. It’s a beautiful old mining town with some beautiful buildings. I was too late to visit the museum but hopefully I’ll get there on Saturday. I wandered into a second hand shop and had a lovely chat with the lady there. She also confirmed the weather was unseasonably cold. Both this woman and the men I met commented on my coat thinking I’d purchased it in Tasmania. I actually bought it before my trip to Europe in 2016 so I’ve definitely gotten my money’s worth.

    A drive back to Strahan for an early dinner before coming back to the accommodation to make a quiche for tomorrow night. I’ll be back late as I’m doing a sunset tour and will want something quick.
    Read more