Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Bay of Fires

    November 2, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Yesterday’s beautiful weather disappeared as the cloud came in today. It was cool but no rain.
    This area is the Bay of Fires so named by the English navigator who saw the fires the local aboriginal people had set to manage the flora and fauna of the area. I did a boat tour of the various small bays. The boat was a small one, not a jet boat but similar in style. I don’t think I will be going on a jet boat soon. No sea sickness though which is good (I did take medication just in case).

    The bays all have brilliant white sands, turquoise water and orange covered rocks.
    Further out the sea was a dark inky blue. We took it slowly in the bays and fast between the bays. There were only 5 of us on the boat (plus the skipper and tour guide) and I was glad I didn’t have to worry about the person in from as I gripped the seat in front of me. On the way back we went straight across the water and it was rough, bouncing up and down. It was also really cold. They provided us with jackets and the neck gaiter I bought at Cradle Mountain came in very handy.
    We did see two seals on the way back. One of the other tourists spotted them. I have no idea how given the speed we were going and the colour of the water. They froliced around the boat for a few minutes.

    I went to Pyengana Dairy for some lunch and cheese tasting. They make chedder cheese there. Out the back is the milking shed. It’s all automated with the cows coming in for milking whenever they want. They wear a tag that records all the details of the milking for each cow. Very interesting process to watch.

    I took a look around St Helens then returned to Binalong Bay to see the bays from the land. This evening I took another walk around the sanctuary. The walk last night was better. I did spot several superb fairy wrens and native hens than are also known as turbo chooks as they run around like crazy.
    Read more