Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Down the coast

    November 3, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    I only had to travel 116km today and google maps said it should take 1 1/2 hours. It took me over 5. Nothing out of the ordinary, that’s just how I like to travel. I stopped at a couple of bays on the way down then saw a sign for the “famous Elephant pass”. I like a good mountain pass so I drove up the mountain. Turns out I didn’t read the sign correctly and it was for the the famous elephants pass pancake place. Well I don’t eat pancakes and it apparently closed several years ago. I kept going to St Marys then as there wasn’t really an alternative that would take me further out of my way I turned around and went back down. It was a picturesque drive with most of the road winding up/down the mountain. There wasn’t anywhere to stop and take photos though.

    I continued on to Bicheno. Had lunch at The Lobster Shack which has been recommended by the guy in the boat yesterday. From there I went to the Bicheno Blowhole. It’s doesn’t produce a huge spout but it is frequent. I had planned to walk along the foreshore but at least part of it was on rocks and you were meant to follow yellow arrows on the rocks. Also it was freezing.

    So I continued onto Coles Bay which is my base for the next two nights. The constant travel is starting to catch up with me. I usually try to half a half day per week when I rest rather than go out. I haven’t done that this trip and I can feel it. I had a nap in my cabin and then set out for a couple of walks as I hadn’t done much walking today. The receptionist at checkin pointed out two easy walks to me. The first was Cape Tourville where there is a lighthouse. The walk was indeed easy although extremely windy. Lovely views around to Wineglass Bay.
    Next I went down to the start of the Wineglass Bay Lookout walk. The information boards listed it as moderate to difficult. So I went down to the beach instead and walked along there. I did see an Aboriginal midden. There are apparently a lot in this area and they are protected.
    Read more