Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    The Inland Route to Port Arthur

    November 5, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    I hadn’t had a chance to visit Richmond earlier in my trip so today was a good opportunity to visit. It meant taking the inland route down to Port Arthur.
    The route is full of convict and colonial buildings and history.

    First stop was Campbell Town. There I found a statue of Eliza Furlong who walked though Saxony in 1828-30 buying merino sheep. I first heard about her earlier in the year when I read Ming and Hilde Lead A Revolution by Jackie French.
    Campbell Town was a garrison town linking Hobart and Launceston. It contains a convict built red brick bridge which is the oldest surviving brick arch bridge in Australia. There is also a red brick line with details of convicts on each bridge.
    The park by the bridge has 3 trees with carvings depicting Campbell Town history.

    Ross was up next, I stopped at the bakery. Then onto Oatlands where I checked out the old mill.

    Richmond was interesting and obviously very old. Most of the buildings along the Main Street were old. I went to the Old Hobart Town model village. It was interesting to compare it what I saw in Hobart.

    From there I drove down to Port Arthur which is where I am for the next two nights.
    Read more