Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Port Arthur

    November 6, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    I visited the Port Arthur historic site today. There’s a walk from my accommodation to the site along the water so I walked there. I didn’t factor how much walking I’d do when there and ended up walked just 500 steps less than the day I spent at Cradle Mountain.
    It was a pleasant walk, punctuated by lots of rustling in the bushes. I did see a pademelon.
    They’ve done a good job preserving the site but it’s the photos on display that really show just how busy the site was during the time it was a convict settlement.
    I did the complementary boat tour and as it was such a nice day we went out towards the mouth of the harbour and then around the Isle of the Dead. I declined to do any of the extra tours available. I didn’t want to hear about deaths and ghosts. I did catch a couple of the free talks though and they were interesting.

    I walked back for a late lunch and then a rest. I had originally panned to eat lunch at the site and make my own dinner. There was no food open at Port Arthur so I ate my dinner for lunch. The only food I have left is cheese. There wasn’t much open around here for dinner either but I did find a takeaway. I went for a drive out to Nubeena than back to Eaglehawk Neck. I had a bit of trouble finding the dog line which was a line of dogs across the narrow stretch of land there. Another couple were also looking for it. We eventually found it. The statue wasn’t exactly cute but the dogs were to deter convicts from escaping.
    Read more