Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    New Sukhothai

    November 30, 2021 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    After a short rest, I ventured out again after sundown to eat at the night market. Thousands of birds were active after sunset, and the noise was deafening. I was surprised to find that only a small handful of the vendors had English signage, as I thought pre-Covid Sukhothai had a critical mass of travelers. Although I speak enough Thai to get by, I never learned to read it, so I am functionally illiterate in this context. I found a stall selling khao man gai (Hainan-style chicken rice) and tucked in happily. For me, one of my happy places is to eat on a makeshift table with traffic whizzing past just feet away. I felt as if I was meant to be right here, right now. For dessert, I had sankaya (a sort of custard), and I had a fun exchange in Thai (supplemented with gestures) with the vendor who was very interested in what vaccines were available in the US. She was very surprised to learn that I had my booster shot already.

    Included in this entry are shots of various other meals eaten in my three days in the area.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Thailand/North-…
    Read more