Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Chiang Mai to New Sukhothai

    November 30, 2021 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Pre-Covid, Thailand was one of the easiest non-English speaking countries to navigate. One could simply step into any of the numerous agencies and book transport and day tours. When planning this trip, I was a little concerned about whether the usual backpacker transport routes were running between Chiang Mai and Sukhothai (as it turns out, they weren't), and I was also a little concerned about the risk of being crammed into a minibus. Fortunately, Paul saved the day once again. His wife Renu had gone to her hometown of Kamphaeng Phet to vote, and Paul was planning to drive down, visit her family, and then drive her back. As Sukhothai was a short diversion, he offered to drive me.

    Our drive took about 4.5 hours with stops en route for coffee and a random Portuguese egg tart stand at a rest stop. Along the way, we had some great conversations about how our lives and careers have turned out since the time he lived in Honolulu over a decade ago.

    Paul dropped me off at my guesthouse around 2pm. After checking in, I went out in search of food and to get myself oriented to New Sukhothai. Although New Sukhothai is a 20 minute drive from Sukhothai Historical Park, I heeded the advice from the Lonely Planet and other sites to base myself there because of the good budget accommodations and wider range of food options.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Admin/Blog/edit-entr…
    Read more