Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Wilson River Camping Area

    2 settembre 2021, Australia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Also known as the Noccundra waterhole, this is a nice spot along the river where we can camp for a donation. Not far away is the Noccundra Pub where you can book in for a feed and visit the amenities block. All this camping goodness for a donation at the amenities.

    This is quite a beautiful spot with ample water in the waterhole. I have taken a bucketful and added a small amount of alum. It was fully cleared in under 1/2 an hour so we have washing up water and when we come back, water to wash our clothes.

    On the way here we had to use the windscreen wipers, 6 wipes of huge rain drops. While refuelling there were a few more drops. Now it is very windy with 50+ kph gusts. I won't be doing any aerial photos here. The poor little drone would be swept away and perhaps lost. Even the birds are absent. I have seen one brave little Willie Wagtail but I fear he too is clutching to a twig somewhere hoping it does not break.

    Diesel was $1.88/l out here at the Noccundra hotel. Hardly surprising given the long distance it has to be transported. We needed to top up our tank to make the trip out to the Dig Tree and back. Nearly 500k with little reserve. I'm hoping we don't experience strong headwinds.

    The mornings are still pleasently cool with just a bit of cloud. That made for a very nice sunrise over the waterhole this morning. Yesterday was another spectacular outback sunset. Last night another billion bright stars that gave enough light to see to walk.

    The water in this waterhole is the typical Muddy colour. I decided to clarify 5 litres with a pinch of alum. It settled in about 30 minutes so I decided to see what would happen if I added a 8l to the muddy remains after I decanted the clear water, by morning I had another bucket of beautiful clear water. Conclusion? I had overdosed by a considerable amount, even though I had only used a pinch of powder.
    Leggi altro