Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Duck Bay, Loch Lomond.

    July 12, 2017 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    With a 20 hour day planned (there and back) I wanted to get on the road early and reach north of Glasgow before the rush-hour. So leaving home at 04:30 I reached Loch Lomond at around 08:30.

    Apart from re-fuelling, Duck Bay is my normal first stop when on the way to The Highlands. Loch Lomond is where The Highlands really begins. Looking out from here, you know you're at the start. It doesn't matter what the weather is, sun, mist or rain makes the scene look different every time you view. I used to stop at Luss which is a little further up the Loch, but that's too busy and touristy now, so I drive by there.

    The original plan was to get a bit of a power nap in the car here, but I felt good even after an early start and 4 hours so I decided to carry on.
    Read more