Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    The Green Welly Stop

    July 12, 2017 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    Anyone who's been travelling to, from or through The Highlands will know this place.This is the place to stop for a quick break whichever direction you're heading.

    The A82 North of Loch Lomond up to Crianlarich winds in and out and is a little skinny; not a single track road like in the very north, but impossible to overtake if you get stuck behind a slow moving vehicle (as I did on this trip). My suggestion is just to sit back, be patient and take your time. After all you're not in the big city anymore and the scenery is worth driving slowly for anyway.

    However, on this particular trip I got stuck behind a tourist coach for quite a few miles and it was where my plan and trip timings started to take a nosedive. In planning my trip I hadn't taken into consideration that this was a summer trip (usually I tour in Spring and Autumn). I soon started to find that the tourist traffic was holding me back and affecting my timings. It really took hold after my Green Welly stop, but that wasn't the only thing that held me up as we'll see.

    A quick break here though and a blast of WiFi followed by my packed breakfast of fruit and cake and I was on my way again up the A82 towards Glen Coe.
    Read more