Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Photogenic Arizona

    June 3, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Today was a day of photo opportunities. We woke to the morning sun on Monument Valley. It was hard to stay in bed because of the sunlight glowing through the closed curtains. So we got breakfast to go and hopped in the car to do the driving tour of the valley. It is a dirt road with a one way loop which gives very scenic views of the buttes. You are not allowed to hike the area without a Navajo guide but the views from the road are all you need.

    We drove the loop road and took too many pictures because the next view was always photo worthy. I remembered my cycloramic app on my phone and took some 360 degree panoramic movies. Not good for a photo book but neat for showing other people what Monument Valley is like. I even got my photo taken on a horse at John Ford Point. It was a real horse but he sat at still as a statue; didn't even move from leg to leg or turn its head. His name was Spirit and he is a mustang - really beautiful horse. I found my charm at another overlook - they allow people to set up tables at the various pullouts and sell stuff, mostly jewelry.
    Read more