Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    DAY1

    March 2, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ❄️ 1 °C

    The plane trip was pleasantly uneventful and on time. I upgraded to a Comfort Plus seat that they claimed offered more legroom and 50% more recline. Based upon my experience on the flight, I'm guessing there must be no recline in standard seats these days.

    So here's an interesting factoid- there was no customs in Italy and no declaration sheet. Can't explain that.

    I took a bus from the airport to downtown Milan and caught a cab from there to the hotel. Hotel is super clean as it should be, given how small the rooms are. European rooms tend to be small but we're talking shoebox. If you are considering joining the tiny house movement, staying Italian hotels offers a great trial training ground. Not only are the rooms small but the shower is also, in fact it is like showering in a can. No problem with any of this though because who spends time in their hotel room? All I need is clean, comfortable bed and hot water and a good temperature, which is where the room fell a little short. It is freezing cold in Milan and evidentally far colder than normal. Evidently the hotel has decided to ignore this fact and is not altering the heat appropriately. I told them it was too cold and they sent me a space heater. In truth it would take about 3 of them to heat the place properly but there's no room for 3, so I am wearing extra layers to bed. Where are my dogs in my hour of need?

    I pretty much spent the remainder of the day tending to some housekeeping (repacking my rushed job) and sleeping as I didn't get much sleep on the plane.
    Read more