Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    May 9 - Victoria and Albert Wharf

    May 9, 2023 in South Africa ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Sylvia headed out to do some shopping, and Sandy and I went out too. Colette was meeting with Liz who will be our guide for the next leg of our adventure.
    Sandy and I headed for a huge warehouse that houses artisans of all ilks – leatherworkers, jewellery makers, clothing makers, painters, etc. The selection is delightful and the bright colours of Africa shine through in their works. I got a little beaded Christmas tree ornament. Beading is a hugely popular craft here. The earliest African bead jewellery dates back to 10,000 BCE, originating in Libya. The tribes that are most known for their exquisite, beaded creations are the Zulu, Masai, Pokot and Turkana tribe. I'm on the hunt for Shweshwe fabrics. According to historians, the name 'shweshwe' derives from its royal influencer, King Moshoeshoe. In 1858, Germans arrived at the Eastern Cape. They too brought indigo cloth. Xhosa women attending German missionaries adopted shweshwe and it gradually spread throughout the Xhosa people.I found fabrics but they were in 2-meter bundles. I'm looking for 1/2 meter pieces to use in quilting. The hunt continues. Price per meter is about one-third of the price I would pay in Canada so I hope I can find some smaller pieces.

    The Victoria and Albert Wharf area of Cape Town is a hugely popular area for music, dining, entertainment, shopping and just generally enjoying the waterfront. There is a designated busker station almost under our hotel window so we get music server times a day. Not a good room for napping! Sandy and I walked around drinking in the lovely warm sunshine. It’s warm without being humid or too hot to move. Hope we get lots more of these types of days! I liked the cool metal sculptures so enjoy the pictures of those!

    Sue and Deb have arrived safely! Dinner tonight is at 6:30 p.m. We’re going to try the Scottish pub we found on Sunday night. It’s got a very extensive menu. Should be something for everyone there. Yum!
    Read more