Satellite
Show on map
  • Salvation Army

    May 10, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Today we went to Salvation Army and sorted toys with the leadership team. We divided toys into categories according to age and gender. We were provided lunch halfway through and that gave us the extra energy to finish strong.

    -"What are you hoping to learn about yourself as a leader on this trip?"
    On this trip I am hoping to exercise using my voice as a leader. I usually am nervous when it comes to speaking up and voicing my opinions while leading or even while just interacting with others and making to decisions. A lot of the time, I will keep quiet on what I have to say in fear of hurting someone else’s feelings. I am always busy worrying about not shutting others down, so I don’t speak up, even if I have a completely different idea of how we should do something. I’ve been trying to work on that throughout the entire year, and I hope to continue speaking up on this trip. Another thing that I hope comes from this trip is a group understanding amongst my team. We are all different in personality and I hope that on this trip we can utilize our different strengths to help our team prosper overall. Sometimes I feel as though we let those differences come in our way of accomplishing things or coming to decisions. I hope that on this trip we can focus on what makes us different as ways we can be successful. Ashleigh is good with directions, so maybe she can handle that realm of the trip. Zach is really good at commanding attention, so maybe we could use that strength as a way to relay information. If Tim were coming I would say that he is also a strong communicator, maybe he could’ve been our contact person for the different organizations. I hope to learn also my limits, as a leader. I would like to be more self-aware and as helpful as I can be on this trip.
    Read more