Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Dazed and confused

    May 12, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Sometimes travel in the city was a little confusing. I took this because he kept making this face and I thought it was funny. But in all seriousness, big shout out to Ashleigh and Dylan for handling the directions for the majority of the trip. Finding your way in a new city is no small feat, and I'm thankful we had them to guide us.

    -"Describe on act of a servant leader that you have witnessed in Philadelphia."

    Servant leadership can be found in grand and great big gestures, and it can be found in the small and everyday act of simple kindness. Throughout the entire trip, there were countless acts of servant leadership that I experienced, witnessed, and noticed. When thinking about how to answer this question, I had difficulty picking just one to write about, as there were such a great deal to decide from. One of my favorite acts of servant leadership that I saw was Ashleigh taking charge of directions. As I’ve said previously, my team is packed with diverse and different personalities. Sometimes we clash and sometimes we complement each other like peanut butter and chocolate. In the beginning of this year I think we were all worried about stepping on one another’s toes and would be more wary about utilizing our own strengths in situations of uncertainty or challenge. On this trip, Ashleigh really took charge of figuring out the directions while traveling place to place with our large group. While being in a new city with unfamiliar surroundings can be difficult, she was brave enough to take on the role of being Map Master Guru. She didn’t expect anyone to thank her, she didn’t expect any special favors in return. She did it for the good of the group and without any glory. I’m very thankful that she was there to help us find our way and in a small way it reminded me of Leo from Journey to the East.
    Read more