Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Tower of London

    April 30, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Suzie - We have been sent to the Tower by order of....well, ourselves really!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣 This example of Norman (and other dynasties of English royalty) is a sight to behold!

    The last time I was here, I was with a tour and it's so wonderful to just meander through the Tower and grounds, instead of being rushed through.

    We are having lunch at the moment in the Armouries Cafe and we are about to go to the original Tower, the White Tower, built by William the Conqueror.

    Nik - I was expecting a crowd at The Tower of London. I was not, however, expecting the line up to get in to be three quarters of the way around the outer wall.

    Having said that though, the line moved quickly and we were soon through the gate.

    It's a marvel, how they were able to build such huge, beautiful, enduring buildings way back when with such simple tools. We certainly don't build like that now, even with the technology we have. Do you expect any modern built building to still be standing in 950 years? I sure don't.

    I loved seeing the ravens. They are two or three times the size of the crows we have back home. Unfortunately they we're not allowed out of their cages due to an avian flu going around. I would have liked to see them out and about.

    We went to see *some* of the crown jewels. Many of them were not on display due the the coronation of King Charles in six days time. We did get to see many of the crowns though. So sparkly.

    I found walking on the old cobble stones tricky. They are all uneven and I got the toe of my shoes caught between the stones several times, causing me to stumble.

    I loved exploring this old site, trying to visualize it back in the years just after it was built, knowing I was walking in the footsteps of Kings and Queens, being in the room where the two princes were kept, So many stories, so much history.
    Read more