Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Stratford-upon-Avon

    May 5, 2023 in England โ‹… ๐ŸŒง 17 ยฐC

    Suzie - We had the most fabulous day today with Mez, Shannon and JJ in the beautiful village/town of Stratford-upon-Avon. This is my second visit to this beautiful area and to see Mez, (who is one of the best friends I have in the world) this time we met her amazingly fabulous family who welcomed us with open arms ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ I miss you already fam, until next time ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ

    We started today with a tube from Bayswater to Paddington, then Paddington to Edgeware Road, then Edgeware Road to London Marylebone, then national rail train train from London Marylebone to Leamington Spa then Leamington Spa to Stratford-upon-Avon. Wow!! ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€ Luckily I love travelling by train!!

    We met Mez and Shannon at the station and then walked from the station into town to see the sights. Then we found this coffee shop with massive scones even I couldn't conquer (unusual I know!!), stayed and chatted and then continued on our way. We turned the corner and there on the green was an old carousel!! Cue much excitement from Suzie!! Of course I was going to ride it, so Shannon and I got on and it was fantastic fun!!

    We then went to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre and walked to Holy Trinity Church. On the way, we got caught in a proper English thunderstorm and huddled under the massive canopy of trees near the church. Then we sought sanctuary in the Church from the rain. It's so beautiful. I love stained glass windows and these were amazing.

    The rain stopped and we went out into the cool air. So refreshing! We walked to the River Avon and got on a boat that went up and down the river, on the way meeting JJ who had finished school for the day. The river boat ride was very tranquil and peaceful. Thankfully there wasn't any more rain!!

    After the boat ride, we went to the Black Swan/Dirty Duck which is across the road from the Royal Shakespeare Theatre for a drink before we headed back to the station to come back to London. Cue many tears. I miss you already Mez, Shannon and JJ!! I'll be back ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ
    Read more