Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Eurovision Grand Final - Family Show

    May 13, 2023 in England ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    Nik - We we're up and out of the hotel early this morning hoping to get a good spot in the line up. ( I personally think we should have left earlier....but we do need to get some sleep. 😴

    There were perhaps 20 - 25 people ahead Better than I expected to be honest. (But there was several lines too.) But then there was some issue with the e-tickets reader resulting in other people getting ahead of me and Suzie and I getting seperated.

    I managed to catch up...only to get seperated again in the crush to get through the doors and the rush down the stairs. This time we didn't manage to catch up again. I honestly don't know how but Suzie ended up all the way over on the other side of the stage. And in the crush of people there was no way in hell I could have made it over to her. (Though she said later she had saved me a spot.)

    The show was (to be expected) freaking awesome. Got to see some Eurovision royalty perform. Daði Freyr, Verka Serduchka, Netta Barzilai, Sam Ryder (who came second last year) and of cause last year's winner Kalush. So damn awesome.

    I didn't manage to make it to the barrier, so my back and legs were yelling by the end. I was just trying to take it all in. The atmosphere in the arena is the stuff that dreams are made of. Being among that many Eurovision fans is breathtaking. Totally worth my aching legs and back.

    Also ...the people in the Albert Dock area as we came out of the show was unbelievable. A carpet of people. I asked Suzie how we would describe the crowd to those back home. What we came up with was....imagine the Ekka on People's Day. Increase the area covered by at least four times, and multiply the people by about 10, and you *might* come close.
    Read more