Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Last Full Day in York

    May 27, 2023 in England ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Suzie - Well, all good things must come to an end, but you can bet I will be back to my beloved York when I can.

    Today, we went to the York Castle Museum, had lunch at The Golden Fleece pub (did you know that there are 125 pubs in York?!), went for a boat cruise along the River Ouse, had ice cream in the park and we have now collapsed with sheer exhaustion in our room. I'm so tired! This sun is so bright and hot and I don't know how English people can be out in it! But they are, in their droves!!!!

    Tomorrow it's London for the afternoon and night, catch the 10.05am flight from Gatwick to Dubai the next day, spend 14.5 hours in Dubai before coming back to Brisbane.

    We have dug really deep on this trip and I'm so proud of Nik and I,- we said we could and we almost have finished this epic journey that's taken us through history, to Eurovision, more history, fun, learning and teaching. Travel is character building and while I'm sad I have to leave the land of my ancestors , I know I will be back - perhaps one day to stay.

    I'm looking forward to seeing my family and friends, my own bed and starting the savings journey again for the next trip!!
    Read more