Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    daily life- classes day 2

    June 14, 2022 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    It’s only the second day of classes. The class I had today was “gender and sexuality in the context of Amsterdam”. That class very much foreshadowed how the rest of my evening would go. Starting my morning in the city was so refreshing. Amsterdam on weekday mornings is definitely “locals” time. Busy busy bike lanes and laid back foot traffic. all of the cafes and restaurants baking their bread for the day. All of the coffeeshops already getting baked for the day. After class I came back and went to Anne and Max for some coffee and food with friends. Portions are small here so a double coffee order is a must. I’m not a big hot coffee gal, but cold coffee is tough to find and be satisfied with. I’m learning to love an oat milk cappuccino. Grocery shopping is becoming a daily thing. Thankful for fresh food with very limited preservatives… but WOW is it hard to keep up when my food only lasts a few days! I was much better with this shopping trip and ended up getting things that I’m more likely to enjoy. We then had an IES borrel, 1st round on them (beer wine or cider) So of course we all got the largest cider we could. Snacks were good, but I’m not sure yet that I’m a “bitterballen” girl! After that drink we all ordered another round, and then avrey, violet, eloise and I decided to continue our evening and go check out the red light district which was a few streets over.Read more