Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    new normals

    June 13, 2022 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    I LOVE my classes so far. My first class is my “sex and science: Dutch medicine and intersexuality” course. Just as expected, its SO interesting and so eye-opening as well. Our classes are in, natural sunlit rooms, windows open, circle desk set up. It feels like book club or an open academic discussion. The classes are 3 hours long, but we are given breaks. There’s a kitchen with tea and coffee that’s free for us to use as well. These first few days, I’m feeling anxious to get into a routine and feeling anxious to just get going and “experiencing”. After my first day of class, a few friends and I went and did some shopping which was just a short walk away. The city still feels so big to me, but it’s definitely beneficial having classes right in de wallen. After school and shopping, I was mentally drained and honestly feeling a little overwhelmed. So I ran around where I am living. It’s so odd to have sights of pigeons and seagulls all in the same run. The area I live in is very “up and coming” so it has notes of industrial vibes but a 5 min walk away and you are in the heart of houthavens. A park, lots of families with lots of children, groceries, small shops, active people. It’s all SO clean and public transportation is so nice. The days here are so long and I love being able to exhaust all the daylight. “Hot girl walks” are a daily thing :)Read more