Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Taco Fish: The Return

    March 7, 2020 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Upping the ante in the institution that is Taco Fish!

    Well, I have not yet manages pollo asado here and time is running out, but yesterday, we made a point of hitting Taco Fish once more. Normally, especially when taking people somewhere you've recommended, it's risky to expect your second experience to match your first. It's even rarer for it to exceed, but it did.

    Things started well with a lovely old guy in the street offering to watch our vehicles as the street we parked on maybe wasn't the most secure. When we got there, it was packed with locals on their lunch break that they tend to take later here, in Mexico. Jen decided to go for the same order as last time- a fish taco, and a Ceviche tostada. I went for three things- two in there is enough, but I wanted to experience different. I got a fish tacos because it's rude not to, a shrimp taco, and then a taco with a chilli relleno filled with octopus and marlin. Susie and Patrick went for fish and shrimp tacos.

    The fish tacos were just on another level- I asked the manager guy what kind of fish it was, and was told Pierna. Not unlike haddock, maybe, for us Brits. So crispy, not at all greasy and, instead of that side of 'chippy' (fish and chip shop, for non-Brits) chips - which we miss dearly - having it in a taco with all of those fresh flavours and textures is a real treat.

    The shrimp (camaron) tacos were epic as well, nice firm flesh, and also done in batter. Jen's Ceviche was a winner once more. And that stuffed chilli with the octopus and marlin was something else. I'm often funny with ordering octopus- cooked anything other than perfectly, it is offensive, so it's always a risky move, but once again, the taco format of eating afforded me the opportunity to be wrong with relatively low risk. It really was outstanding. The octopus was like butter. I tried to determine how it had been cooked, but gave up in favour of just getting my food all over my face and groaning with pleasure.

    I managed to compose myself a bit better at the garnish bar this time which meant I spotted what I missed last time out- chipotle mayo and sour cream. Sweet Lord. I hardly even took many photos, I was just so immersed in the eating.

    When we went to pay, I got chatting to a guy in the queue, Carlos, from Puerto Vallarta. He spoke great English, but I tried to stick to Spanish a sits good practise and I the show of effort makes for a better relationship, especially in those early moments. He gave us the wonderful news that there's another Taco Fish in Guadalajara, where we're headed soon! He also gave us some recommendations for streetfood in his hometown where we'll be before Guadalajara. Had we not been in a queue and all about to leave- he also seemed to be on a mission somewhere- I think this would have made a great candidate for a first in-depth conversation/interview about food, so I was a little sorry to say goodbye. Not to worry, though, I made the most of the time I had with him, and I can be happy with that.

    We left with a couple of treats in hand for the old-timer who was watching our rides, making sure that we put back a little bit of the love we get from the people here. What a wonderful country Mexico is.
    Read more