Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Monteverde Reserve

    January 6, 2022 in Costa Rica ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    While Dima sleeps off his sunstroke, Mali goes on an early morning walk in the Monteverde nature reserve. The receptionist warned of too many people visiting and entry capacity being met early on already at times but standing at the entry at 7 sharp makes you omit all of this. And there's a first coati to be encountered on the road I declared my inofficial parking lot already! Wandering through the forest to La ventana, a beautiful viewpoint, as well as to a small waterfall, let me see all sorts of different plants and a few different types of birds. However, after the incredible tour the night before I can hardly believe I would only find so few animals on my own. Ah well, it was said that nighttime is better to see animals, and besides, it's a good sign that guides make such a difference. I learn about the continental divide as well as about part of the forest having been cattle pasture only 40 years prior. It's impossible for me to imagine anything else but trees there now.Read more