Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Georgia Ohrdorf and the busy day

    June 28, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    Today I woke up and got ready so I could go to work with Kate. She was headed to facilitate some high school sessions in Windsor and I decided to be a tourist for the morning. I walked to Windsor Castle which was under repair unfortunately then I walked the long walk which is a path leading up to the castle. It was a classic dreary British morning but not too cold. The path was very busy and heaps of cars with tinted windows were driving past. I'm choosing to believe there were at least a few important people that drove past. I didn't find out what was going on unfortunately. I then walked down to the Thames and sat for a bit but then it started raining, so I went to the train station where I was meeting Kate to head into London.
    We jumped on the train and then met Brooklan at another station. The train trip was about an hour, so not bad at all. We then took the underground to the theatre district. We stopped at a Wetherspoons for a drink before we walked to the Palace Theatre. We went to see Harry Potter and the cursed child which was broken into 2 parts. We walked up what felt like 1000 stairs and over to our seats. We literally had to lean forward to completely see the stage as we were up so high and blocked by bars, the seats were also meant for much smaller humans than us 3. Once the play started however you forgot as it was so very good. The actors were amazing and the special effects were incredible, it really felt magical. The first part finished up and we headed into Chinatown for dinner.
    London was absolutely packed full of humans, so busy. We picked a place and it was good, I struggled with chopsticks which was fun.
    We found another Wetherspoons and had another drink before returning for part 2. On the way in the security guard heard our accents and was telling us about what was different in the Melbourne show and the UK show which was interesting. The second part was just as good as the first and I'd forgotten how good the story is. We were so glad we went, however it was already 9:30 and we still had a 1.5 hour journey home. The train was quiet and we got some snacks for the trip which made it go quicker. We got back around 11:30 and all headed off to bed exhausted. I felt so happy as I had seen and experienced so much today!
    Read more