Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Antelope Park to Bulawayo

    January 12, 2020 in Zimbabwe ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    I woke up around 5.30am but didn't feel that I would make it for the early morning safari. I thought I had lost the top to my water bottle on the safari vehicle the night before and decided to go and look for it on the vehicle before it departed on the morning safari. I hadn't showered, had breakfast or packed away my tent and so didn't think I'd have time to go on the safari before our truck departed at 9am. However my fellow traveller, Lauren, encouraged me to get on the safari vehicle and do the safari and worry about packing my things later. This helped me decide to go and I ran back to my tent to quickly get my camera, rucksack and water to do the safari. We then set off with four fellow travellers into the park. This time four lions were released from their enclosure, two young males and two young females. They closely followed the vehicle and it was wonderful to watch them play and interact with each other. They moved around the vehicle and went in front from time to time. At certain points we spotted impala and wildebeest. The lions made some runs to hunt the animals but their inexperience showed as the animals were easily able to keep their distance from the young lions. Although, the guides told us that one of the young females had previously made successful kills. The lions also came across some rotting meat from dead animals and started to eat and gnaw at the bones. Lions are often scavengers and have very powerful immune systems which means they can eat rotten meat without coming to harm. We were blessed to have nearly two hours watching these magnificent young animals lithely pad their way through the scrubland and around our vehicle. It was another wonderful close up animal encounter in this park.
    We didn't get back to the campsite until 8.50am and I was anxious about getting my things packed to leave at 9am, but our tour leader, Jemma, was very understanding and allowed me time to pack, pay my bills, eat some pancake and get on the truck. The driver, Often, also kindly packed away my tent while I payed for my activities in the park.
    We then set off for our next destination in Bulawayo. The journey was fairly quick and uneventful and we arrived at a very nice campsite, Burkes' Paradise Backpackers Hostel and Campsite, with attractive grassy campground by a pool. I felt quite tired but there was no time for rest as we collectively cleaned the contents of our truck and it was my turn to do the cook group with two fellow travellers, Ri and Kim. Despite my initial anxieties that none of us had cooked samosas before,we managed to cook them and the meal went down well with our fellow travellers. We relaxed in the communal room after dinner and were given a debrief of our exciting walk with white rhinos the following day and the overnight train to Victoria Falls thr following evening. The pace of this journey is quite something. Things we did the very same morning, such as the safari with lions, feel like they happened weeks ago.
    I retired to my bed feeling somewhat exhausted from the day's activities and prepared fro another busy day tomorrow. The air was warm and the ubiquitous African crickets were chirping as I endeavoured to find sleep and dreams of lions running through the bush.
    Read more