Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Geneva Day 3

    July 20, 2023 in Switzerland ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Today was just a bigggg lake day. I woke up and had some free breakfast then met one of the fellas from last night’s group to go to the lake. We took the little ferry across the lake as opposed to walking- since it’s included in the free Geneva transport card that you get when you stay in a Geneva hotel or hostel. It was a cute little boat ride, only 5 minutes. We were only at the lake for a short while, he had to go catch his train after a short 40 minutes. I stuck around at the lake, read my book, and ultimately took a nap on the rocks. After that, I was getting hungry, but I spent so much money yesterday that I needed to be budget friendly. I went to the supermarket to get something, anything, that was edible for lunch and ended up getting an egg, ham, and cheese supermarket salad 😭😭 it was not very delicious, but I was just trying to be smart about my money out here, cuz I still have another 3 days out here. I also got a portugese tarte, which I saved for later. I then went back to the same lake spot where I hung out with more people from the night prior, this time I actually got into the water. It was a bit chilly, but refreshing, nonetheless. It was so funny to see how the swans would swim around the lake, paying no mind to the people- but I guess it’s more their home than ours, anyways. The others headed back and I stuck around again, reading my book and then walked across the bridge to go back to the hostel. I picked up some random food- which I did not enjoy, on the way back. I showered and freshened up and then met up with the group again just to hang out and have some take out drinks by the water. I didn’t end up having my drink but just spent the night chatting. Something kinda weird about this group is that like everyone is >25 so I felt really young 😭. The company is nice nonetheless, and they didn’t treat me any different than from one another, and everyone was still very kind. We went back to the hostel and it was early, so I called Lian and Alina for a little bit since I saw that they were together. Shared some of my stories and caught up and it was so nice to talk to them because it’s been like a month!!Read more