Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Rotterdam Day 2- Kinderdijk

    August 10, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Today was another one of my favourite days that I’ve had! How lovely. Yesterday, Lititia had convinced me to go on a small day trip with her to Kinderdijk which is a 40 minute boat ride from Rotterdam. So we met at my hostel around 9:30am and set off to catch the boat. Once we arrived, the weather was a bit gloomy, but our spirits were not! We rented bikes, and I got a kids bike and it sucked also LOL (the handlebrakes and bell didn’t work, it made a really funny noise, couldn’t adjust the seat). We biked all around the area which is littered with windmills. We didn’t get to go into one because we didn’t wanna pay, but we saw lots and lots of them and it was very fairytale- esque. There were lots of animals- cows, horses, sheep! It was lovely. We were also very adamant about not using a map for a while, but then somehow ended up in some residential area and got very very lost. But, we did find out way back. I was pooooooped after. We took the boat back and I slept. Then we went our separate ways for a bit to refresh. I had a nap and then took a walk to a nearby park that was very very beautiful! There was a stream that flowed in the middle and it was dirty, but the park was still very very pretty. Green and lush and had trees lining the stream, pretty flowers in some areas, and people were just relaxing. After, I walked towards Lititia’s hostel and walked past what I call “the egg” which is a museum, that I unfortunately never got to actually go inside. Lititia’s hostel is really cool it’s like these cube houses, she showed me the inside and it was pretty cool. We went to eat at the Markthal for real this time, and we both got gyros. Then, we went back to the egg and went to the architecture and design museum across from it, because there was free entry on Thursday evenings. I wasn’t a huge fan of the museum, but it was something to do. We went to watch the sunset at the nearby bridge, which, the sun was actually blocked by the tall buildings, but, we still saw the pink sky. After this, we met up with her hostelmate and we had a drink nearby her hostel. We grabbed some McFlurry’s as they walked me home, and we said a very sad goodbye.

    Also side note is that Rotterdam is so different from so many of the cities that I’ve been to because it’s quite modern and newer, since much of it was destroyed in the world war.
    Read more