Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Sawang Selatan

    December 19, 2017 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    Butterworth is a beautiful town located to the North of Seberang Perai. Most of the people here speak Malay, Chinese and Tamil. The town is considered the mainland halve of the State of Penang. It is just three kms away. It was unofficially named as Bagan. However, in the later years it was named Butterworth after a British Official who had served as the Governor for the town. The best points of interest here are the Butterworth Bridge and the Penang Bird Park. During my stay in Butterworth, I made sure to visit the temple of Nine Emperor and the experience was just mesmerizing.

    Butterworth is the second largest town and is located in the mainland state of Penang in Malaysia. The place is famous for being home to several industries, food factories. Asia’s largest fairy is located here and trust me the experience was quite memorable. My Bus journey from Singapore to Butterworth was quite convenient and if you are planning to take a bus to the departure point, let me tell you it is quite close to Little India and Komtar. There are about two operators plying on this route between Singapore and Butterworth – Konsortium Express and Sri Maju. These two operators are known to provide some of the best coach services from Singapore to Butterworth. The journey between the two cities by bus takes around 11 hours and so I chose to travel in the dead of the night. I would recommend you to do the same so that you do not spend your precious hours of the day travelling.

    I had booked my bus tickets from this website https://www.redbus.sg/bus-tickets/singapore-to-… and the experience was seamless. The prices on the website are quite reasonable and the buses are quite comfortable and equipped with some of the most modern facilities like charging docks. I had booked my tickets with Konsortium Express and my pick up point was Golden Mile Tower in Singapore. The Bus departed at 12:00 am and I was in Butterworth at 10:00 am in the morning. However, if you choose to travel in the day it might take some more time depending on traffic. The ticket cost me about SGD60 for a window seat. Ticket prices usually start from SGD41 and go up to SGD55. Another Operator plying was Sri Maju Express, the buses were all booked here, and I chose Konsortium. The pickup point for Sri Maju Express was Golden Mile Complex. Make sure not to confuse between Golden Mile Complex and Golden Mile Tower. There is only one bus during the day with Sri Maju that departs at 9:00 pm in the night. The price is fixed at SGD40. Both buses will drop you off at Boon Lay Shopping Centre and trust me the variety of products here is such that I made a whole in my pocket for about SGD500 even after this long journey.

    I would recommend you to book your bus tickets in advance, as there are scores of people heading to Butterworth during the week end for a calm and relaxing time.
    Read more