Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    He who rests rusts...finding Castelrotto

    July 21, 2023 in Italy ⋅ 🌧 64 °F

    The penultimate leg of ‘Walking in Europe’ began today in Zurich…if all goes to plan I will leave Switzerland travel through Austria and take a hard right into northern Italy.
    On the train between Zurich, Switzerland and Innsbruck, Austria a rather large number of tourists boarded. It was utter chaos as they tried to find their seats. I share this anecdote because the last gal to board looked rather confused and as fate would have it the last empty seat was next to me. I could tell she was just trying to find a spot as the train started to move. Shortly thereafter the ticket collector came by and said she was in the wrong coach that she would have to upgrade her ticket to stay... after a rather heated conversation she paid for the upgraded seat. I share this because the conversation was in German so I was unable to understand. After the collector left I reached on my bag and pulled out a piece of chocolate that Mimi had left with me to hand to the septuagenarian. We shared, she smiled and we chatted using ‘Goggle translate’, although she knew more English than I knew German. As Boxer is inclined to do finding common denominators…she skis and has children and grandchildren…and that her daughter turned 40 yesterday, “well you know we have that in common as our son had a birthday yesterday as well,” We shared pictures of our families and chatted about my travels, she went to her phone and began to type and when she was done she said, “my mother has a saying, he who rests rusts.”Read more