Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Michael on my mind and more

    August 1, 2023 in Italy ⋅ 🌧 66 °F

    It is somewhat unusual for Boxer to spend time in a church, but today I found solitude in the Castelrotto Parish Church, the “Dome on the Mountain”.
    Michael would have turned double 7’s today.
    There are few things I remember from my childhood, one was being an acolyte in the Episcopal church in Ashland following Michael’s footsteps. Michael and I both were child actors at the Shakespeare Festival, usually the lone one in the particular play. And days at the large swimming pools - Twin Plunges. The fact that I am six years younger made being close difficult. I was mostly annoying to him and when Ellen was added to the equation he was looking for a way to leave home. We will spread his ashes in the arboretum he created soon.
    After an hour of silence, I got the much needed hair and eyebrow trim. Tonight is the Hëxennachte (GR) or Notte delle Streghe (IT) - “Witches Night” in the same plaza as last night’s festival. More music and desserts.
    As I was walking up to the venue the sky cleared from the earlier thunderstorm and allowed the setting sun to shine it’s light on Castelrotto and the surrounding Dolomiti.
    The only thing missing is sharing this experience with my family…
    Read more