Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Nubia

    December 14, 2022 in Egypt ⋅ 🌙 75 °F

    Of all the places we went, this was the one place I would not go back. Sadly I really liked the henna and holding the alligator but the boat ride before that was a money pit. They made us change boats half way through the short ride and we had to tip the first driver. They sold stuff in the middle of the boat as always but they stopped the boat for a half hour to make you buy stuff. Little kids paddled up to the boat singing and begging. Then when we were done seeing one of the traditional homes on the island of Nubia we were basically mobbed by the people. They grabbed my arm smearing my henna (on purpose) which really made me mad then wanted me to pay them to fix it. It was about to go down in the Nubian streets. Would not recommend.Read more