Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    Anssin's Shop

    August 30, 2022 in Finland ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    I nipped into a small village shop in the country side to buy some bread for lunch, it was just a quick stop off.

    The shopkeeper Anssin was the friendliest most jolly guy ever! It was a village smaller than Ennerdale and he was just so overjoyed to have a foreigner in his shop, he couldn't believe it 🤣

    He had heard of Huddersfield! A rarity overseas, but he is a keen follower of the Premier League so our brief visit to the top was enough for him to know of it.

    He insisted on giving me some potato/bread cake things (pic 3) as they were made 200m away. When I tried to pay he wouldn't take any money as he was just so happy to be speaking to us (Lennon was there) in English.

    Then he insisted of giving me a beer, brewed locally, as it had a picture of him on the bottle, the picture is him running through the forrest nearby, as apparently the name of the beer is a pun and means both to run, but also a slang term to steal alcohol and run away with it 😁

    He said I could take a photo of him holding it haha so I went back out to get my phone, and when I came back he also had a tote bag waiting for me "so you can market me all around England" 😁
    Read more