Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 65

    Bobsleigh Ride - Sigulda

    September 10, 2022 in Latvia ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    This is one of my longest standing bucket list items, a dream for as long as I can remember 😍 (I explain this partly to show that nothing was going to stop me from having a go)
    We were able to go on a bobsleigh for a run, down the track in Sigulda, Latvia.

    We arrived an hour early to avoid the queue, but Lennon decided to have an unusual time nap 😂 so eventually 90 mins later we joined the queue.

    With only one bobsleigh going round and round (down the track then towed up quickly by a van to drop the passengers off and pick up the next lot) we were queuing for around 30 minutes behind a group of 8 middle aged - older Irish Men who appeared to be on a lads holiday... They were funny and friendly and Lennon was smiling and waving at them all the whole time we queued.

    In the bobsleigh there was a pilot and 2-3 passengers... When we got the front, we asked (guessing he wouldn't be) if Lennon was able to ride, he said no, too small. So I said OK, just me then (assuming he would put me and Brace separately with other passengers)
    He said flatly... "2 minimum" and just looked at me 😂
    I explained I didn't really know what to do about that as we obviously had to look after Lennon... At which point the group of Irish men, some of who had returned from their ride and some still on, all came over and said "we'll look after the baby if you want! He'll be fine! We have a female with us 😂" (they had a Latvian tour guide who seemed to be working for them) so we looked at each other and just handed him over 🤣

    He was happy for about 45 seconds then suddenly realised he was with a load of strangers and started SCREAMING! Like he never has in his life 🙈 we had our hair nets on by then, quickly shoved our helmets on and jumped in the bobsleigh and we were off 😅

    The ride was everything I'd hoped and I was grinning ear to ear from top to bottom, some corners were so intense it took all your strength not to whack your head on the side but it was incredible. Top speeds of 85mph and in winter they go up to 115mph!

    When we were towed back up to the drop off/collection point we could hear Lennon screaming before we even arrived 😭🙈 he hadn't stopped.

    They were all happy enough though and after about 5 mins back with me Lenny was happy again 😅
    Read more