Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    the Oregon Trail Way up on the ridge

    June 7, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    Here I am along the Oregon Trail just outside of Guernsey wyoming. the absolutely astounding thing was yesterday at Fort Laramie I managed to photograph one of these covered wagon things Costa Migos or something, Anyway what we've just completed is hiking the ruts left in the sandstone by these wagons. Although it didn't record I tried to make an entryway up on the hill along the Oregon trail, and to my disdain and disgust if I turned around I could see a beautifully manicured green golf course actually covering parts of the Oregon trail. However the astounding thing for me is what motivated these wagoneers? Religious persecution? gold in them the hills? the promise of free land and homesteading? It seems incredible, as Connie pointed out you get to the top of the hill and you look down and there's a valley and beyond the valley is another hill or ridge and beyond those hills are the Rockies and beyond those Rockies... how the hell do you ever get the motivation to get there?Read more