Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 96

    Thursday, 7/27/23, Madison River, MT.

    July 27, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    Way down South in MT. Just North of West Yellowstone and a smidge NORTH EAST of Idaho border.
    ... and there we found a camp site along the Wolf Creek... which was great, until Jack decided it was time to find the needle in the haystack. I decide to walk along a dirt road laden with tiny multi-coloured pebbles, where as I am trying to locate an osprey/ bald-eagle nest, a gust of wind takes my hat off. But the chin strap holds.
    What I only discover back at camp was my right ear hearing aid was missing!
    Along a dirt road with millions, no trillions of pebbles... find the hearing aid with similar colour IF it had come off when I suspected, how the heck...? I decide to use my intuition. Immediately, Connie and I walk back, to search and look at every pebble... so we walked at least a quarter of a mile, then I realized, I was looking for another pebble - that wasn't easy - so I started scanning for curved wire attached to the pebble-like hearing aid... after a good few steps - and a steadily sinking heart:
    "There it is!" I shouted. We danced a jig and had a decent hug to celebrate! Long story, using intuition - minoriracle! I FOUND MY HEARING AID! After maybe 7 or 8 cars had passed along this dirt road - on top of all that... IT STILL WORKS!
    THANK YOU UNIVERSE !
    Tomorrow it is onwards, South, into the Grand Tetons and another new state for me, Idaho!
    Seems a lot of smoke haze has cleared - except now BC is burning. Sigh... BUT, I found my hearing aid!
    See the images attached, i) Typical of the dirt road, ii.) a needle in the haystack, alright, hearing aid in pebbles on road - (I set up these images !).
    The Pilsner Urquell label is a Czech beer I enjoyed in Alberta.
    Read more