Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 3

    March 30 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 10 °C

    Much quieter night with very little wind. Got up at 9am, and had a lovely breakfast with our friends. Mokau had a market, so we popped up to have a look. To my delight and surprise, there was a big group of bone carvers displaying not only their wares but actually creating the carvings. The smell took me straight back to Teachers College where I learned to do bone carving. It's made me want to dig out all my tools and start doing it again!
    A visit to the museum was an unexpected highlight! There is no entry fee, just an optional donation. A pianola was available to play, and the group of us stood there and sang "you're the one that I want" from Grease!
    I also snapped a photo of an antique dental chair.
    Later on the boys went fishing, and us girls relaxed and chatted and read our books. Sadly no fish were caught, although Mark said he nearly caught a 'dog' fish a couple of times 😬
    After dinner, we were picked up by Jenny (our lovely host) and taken to the Awakino Hotel where we were treated to an awesome indie/Latin/kiwi band from New Plymouth called The Mara! They were excellent. To my surprise, Neil pulled me up for a dance!
    Another awesome day was had by all!
    Read more