Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Niijima

    March 28, 2017 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    My journey to Niijima began already when I arrived here with the non-japanese-speaking state of mine mentioned before. So I was very excited to see if everything had worked out. It did and how it did. It's a little paradise here.
    The ferry ride was quick, I slept on the floor with many others and quite rested I woke up at 5:30. Arriving time in Niijima was 8:30 and I re-met Maria, a girl from Moscow, spending a week on Niijima with friends to surf. She was the other not Asian person on the ship. The lady of the B&B picked me up from the pier and after quickly taking my room I started the first part of my walk up to Mt. Miyatsuka, the highest point of the island. It was just me and and it was beautiful.
    After some lunch and a nap I went up the other side, breathtaking. We could see the coast line, Mt. Fuji was hidden behind clouds. There were two men up there with me, here on Niijima for business. One of them is a 'island expert' and told me the name of even the smallest island we could see. Then I headed to the Onsen, hot springs. After more then 20km of walking on that beautiful island that was just heaven, the tüpfli ufem i. I soaked in there until the stars appeared and a bit longer. All in all, a perfect day.
    Read more