Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Goodbye Western Australia

    April 17, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    The farm in Hyden is huge: 20000 acres of land where they grow lupins, canola, wheat and barley. They also have 4000 sheep. Not many farmers have sheep anymore because they are a lot of work. Since everything is so spread the kids go to boarding school to Perth from the age of 12. Here they do not home schooling, a bus brings them to the school in Hyden.
    If they need medical advice they go to town and there is a nurse. If she thinks they need a doctor they put him/her on vidocall and then they decide if hospital, an ambulance or the plane is needed. I was very impressed by this way of life and especially by Mark and Melinda. I am very looking forward to see them again in Switzerland!
    Tonight it's my goodbyes to Oli, Tom and Lea since I am flying out to Sydney tomorrow morning. I am very sad to leave them after spending such a good time with them. I will miss you!
    Read more