Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Me, myself and I - and Romeo

    April 30, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌬 10 °C

    The weather was supposed to be a bit better in the morning so we headed towards red rocks shortly after breakfast. As we were having a coffee on the terrace a woman pointed out dolphins! Again! I was so excited! We started the walk to those rocks where seals are living and almost the whole walk we had the dolphins swimming/jumping back and forth along the shore with us. Additionally the sun came out, we had stunning views and sharing this dolphin experience with Yvonne and Andrew was just great. That's actually the only downside of traveling alone, you can't really share those precious moments with someone.
    After burger the both of them dropped me at the renting place and after an hour, it was me, myself and I. And Romeo. I decided to call my van Romeo. The first stay was at Cape Palliser. The drive here was very lonesome after quitting Welly accompanied only by heavy rain and wind. Of course I passed the camping spot without seeing it, landed on a gravel road with some damage, on the right side a wall, on the left side the sea with waves splashing over. Puh. I had to drive through a small river and had to be careful not to kill a seal which were lying on the street. Not very comfortable, finally I could turn around and I found my spot. Now I had a improvised diner since it's just too much of a storm out there to open any doors and cook. Romeo is hopefully strong enough to get me safe through the night, he is shaking a bit but I think, I'll be fine!
    Read more