Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 69

    Ua Huku

    May 28, 2017 in French Polynesia ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    The last island of the Marquesas we visited was the driest. Theoretically. We had lot's of rain again, warm rain, I didn't mind. Some did. So at least they have something to complain about and everyone was happy 😌
    We were picked up by trucks, we were in the car with Patrice, a rasta man, we were singing along to some Reggae music, well, not me since still without voice. They all take such good care of me. Like yesterday Tino, one of the marquesas guide gave me a glass of whisky with honey and lemon juice for my voice to come back. The crew is fantastic, my favorites are the marines. They work so much, always friendly. I think they are the heart of this ship, they are the ones that make this ship so special. I can recommend it to everyone even the younger ones. You are quite an exotic thing being young on this ship. And if you speak French and you are a bit open you make wonderful and unforgettable meetings. I am very happy I landed here.
    Each island has it speciality of art, here it was the bone carving. So we visited a market again, I played hide and seek with a girl, that was much fun. It was the French mothersday so we got a lot of flowers, we all smelled very good. Tino gave me a flower necklace and one of the marines the flower crown. In polynesian tradition offering a flower corwn to a woman was marrying her. We had a polynesian evening with dances and life music and some haka again. There is one of the marines being in the famous haka group traveling all around the world. He looks so different dressed normally and in his costume with all the tattoos and the black coloring in the face. As said before, it is very raw and masculine, on the other side you have women dancing 'la dance du oiseau' which is so grazile and feminine. It is so clearly set, men being the worriers and woman being the carer. No women would ever dance the haka. At the same time they do not mind at all if there is transvestism. I think this is amazing, letting be the other how she/he wants to be.
    Read more