Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 80

    Arequipa and Wiedersehen Nr. 11

    June 8, 2017 in Peru ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    The flight to Arequipa was quick and waiting at the airport was Marcos! How nice to see him again after all these years! He is not working as a vet anymore but has a hotel in the centre of this second largest city of Peru. It is closed due to renovations but I can stay in one of the older room as the only guest. Very cool. We decided to see each other at lunch again today. It seemed I had a very good sleep since the renovation noise didn't wake me up until 11am. I had my first Pisco Sour and fish ceviche at the Plaza de Armas for breakfast where I met his wife and his son. He is married to Luba, a woman from Ukraine. She lives in Peru now for four years, speaks plenty of languages since being a translater. Their son Andres is 2.5 years old and lovely. In the afternoon I booked a couple of treks: I will visit the Colca Canyon, walk the Salkantay-Trail and finally climb up Misti, a volcano at 5800m altitude, the one on the picture. Yippee !Read more