Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    nucsoara

    January 2, 2018 in Romania ⋅ ☁️ 3 °C

    We had quickly breakfast and soon we were heading to Nucsoara. It was just Theo, Mattei, her older son, and me. Adrian, the husband, was again working on the third and stayed with Nikita in Bucuresti. They both work 100% at the National Radio station as well as Ghoerges.
    So we were on the road, the weather being too warm, rainy for that season. We stopped in Curtea, visited the tomb of King Mihai, who just had died recently. We also visited the monastry then headed to Nucsoara. I realized quickly why 4WD were needed since it was a non-asphalt, steep, curvy road up to that small village. Arrived we put our luggage in the tiny but comfy house and went visiting the neighbors which are living there. Again I was touched and impressed how friendly and openminded they all are and in which modest - poor conditions they live. Some don’t have running water. Their home is a room with bed and a room where the kitchen, very small. Sometimes 4 people. Heating is with fire. I felt again ashamed for my luxury life I have back home like I remember feeling when I was working at the children’s home back in 2006. They have so little and manage life. Many of them work abroad, in the forest of France for example and come back for the holidays. When you grow up in a place like Nucsoara, you don’t have many possibilities and choices. Which made me realize again how blessed I am. Just because I coincidentally was born somewhere else.
    We were spoiled with lot’s of homemade cookies and cakes. I tried to follow the conversations but my Romanian is very rosty. It was still a wonderful afternoon being able to catch a glimpse of lifes that are so different of mine. We had some soup, giorba, for dinner and then went to bed quickly. In the house of Theodora there is no running water and the toilet is in a little hut outside. They bought the house when Mattei was little and some more terrain for Nikita. They spend their summers up there, Theodora stayed three month nonstop when Nikita was born. By the way, Maternity leave in Romania is two years.
    Read more